Lord, I have shut the Door

Posted on June 11, 2008. Filed under: Personal Spirituality |

Lord, I have shut the door,

Speak now the Word

Which in the din and throng

Could not be heard;

Hushed now my inner heart,

Whisper Thy will,

While I have come apart,

While all is still.

 

Lord, I have shut the door,

Strengthen my heart;

Yonder awaits the task – I share a part.

Only through grace bestowed

May I be true;

Here, while alone with thee,

My strength renew.

 

From the hymn, “Lord, I have shut the Door” by William M. Runyan – referenced on pages 49 and 50 in Ravi Zacharias’ book, Cries of the Heart.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

